2000 Saturn failing emission inspections

Tiny
FIT42007
  • MEMBER
  • 2000 SATURN
My car has failed 5 emission state inspections. I have a 2000 Saturn, sc coupe, 4 cylinder, 94,000 miles. The service engine light kept coming on and they kept telling me to drive it some more which I did. The light finally went off and hasn't been on since I've driven it 1000 miles. The last inspection gave me 3 codes: Catalyst not ready, EGR System not ready and 02 sensor not ready. I am getting ready to take it to the Saturn Dealer but don't want to get ripped off. Can you help me?
Do you
have the same problem?
Yes
No
Wednesday, May 30th, 2007 AT 6:48 PM

7 Replies

Tiny
JACK42
  • MEMBER
What you said arent really codes, they are the monitors in the PCM, and whether or not they are ready. It has been 1000 miles and no check engine light? If it passes out the tail pipe, it should be ok. Might want to find someone to pretest or scan the PCm to be sure all monitors are ready and the tail pipe readings are good. Have all 5 fails been due to the same thing (monitors not reseting or being ready)?
Was this
answer
helpful?
Yes
No
Thursday, May 31st, 2007 AT 7:58 AM
Tiny
FIT42007
  • MEMBER
Yes, it's been the same messages with each inspection. How much does it cost to fix it so it will pass the inspection. Unfortunately, I don't know anyone with a scanner. Thanks
Was this
answer
helpful?
Yes
No
Thursday, May 31st, 2007 AT 9:58 AM
Tiny
JACK42
  • MEMBER
If the monitors dont reset, then you probably have other problems
Was this
answer
helpful?
Yes
No
Thursday, May 31st, 2007 AT 5:39 PM
Tiny
FIT42007
  • MEMBER
Okay, took it to the Saturn dealer today. They said that the EGR Valve needs replacing ($300) and the Thermostat Sensor reads out of range ($489).
Was this
answer
helpful?
Yes
No
Friday, June 1st, 2007 AT 11:44 AM
Tiny
JACK42
  • MEMBER
Sounds ok except what is a thermostat sensor?
Was this
answer
helpful?
Yes
No
Friday, June 1st, 2007 AT 5:14 PM
Tiny
SERVICE WRITER
  • EXPERT
Since there aren't codes setting, but monitors (powertrain management self-tests) not running like Jack says, I don't see why the egr should be a problem. I have seen coolant temperature sensors be bad causing the computer to get faked out thinking a self-test should be able to run when in fact the sensor was giving the computer an incorrect temperature of the coolant, allowing a monitor to run at the wrong time. I am having a hard time understanding the logic. Also like Jack, I never heard of a thermostat sensor.
Was this
answer
helpful?
Yes
No
Sunday, June 3rd, 2007 AT 5:55 PM
Tiny
FIT42007
  • MEMBER
I'm probably saying it wrong. The mechanic said that the thermostat sensor reads out of range. It reads hot. My car over heats when I am in traffic standing still. (Another problem that I am having)
Was this
answer
helpful?
Yes
No
Monday, June 4th, 2007 AT 10:48 AM

Please login or register to post a reply.

Recommended Guides